More than a Peck

I think I picked quite a bit more than a peck of peppers to pickle and freeze.  Our chili pepper patch was pretty prolific this summer.  They are still coming on strong, but we just missed a hard freeze last night and may have one tonight, so I went out today in the chilly wind to pick chili peppers.  I picked more than three bags full, leaving just a few small ones in case it doesn’t freeze and we have a few more days of warm weather.

It’s satisfying to enjoy the year’s final harvest, but  sad too.  This marks the official end of summer for me.

I would have posted a picture, but Sonja has my camera in Arkansas.

By the way, I’m still buying Iwig milk.  If you live in NE Kansas and drink milk, look for it.  It’s worth it and the dairy needs the help.

2 Responses

  1. Hey Mark! I had no idea until I saw your post that Sonja was living in Arkansas. You should spend some time with Heather and Brandy if you ever need company and you’re not enjoying so much time alone. I know they’d enjoy that.

    Also, I bought some cookies & cream Iwig milk a bit ago, and it was quite delicious!! The milk in general just taste immensely better.

    I always read your posts, just never comment. Thought I would drop a quick line.

    Have a great day!

  2. Hi Claudia. Make all your friends buy Iwig milk–even if they are lactose intolerant! Tell coach Mangino to make the players drink it–they could help save the dairy.

Leave a Reply

