Name Change?

When I started this thing, I didn’t know much about the format, layout, etc–I just signed up for a WordPress account and I had to pick a name–right now–so I started with “Faith and Alternatives.”  I kind of liked that, but I thought maybe it was a little confusing.  So I switched to “Faith Matters.”  That’s sort of what it’s about, but I don’t know, it sounds kind of bland.  I would like to use “Altercation” but “Cousin Eric” already uses that–and I don’t really think I enjoy a good fight as much as he does.  I thought about “Alteration” but then that would sound like a sewing site–So I’m trying out for now, “Alternation.”

What do you think?  About changing the name–does it just confuse things?  Is it unimportant?

And about the subject–of alter-nation:  Are we really a new nation?  Did the election alter everything? Are we now officially beyond racism?

5 Responses

  1. I’m liking alternation. Have we really changed? Only on paper, history will tell. Have we eliminated racism, probably not, but it sure is a good start. One would hope that Obama’s personal background would be an example to all minorities and single parent families, that many “so called social obstacles” can be overcome and the individual can excel.
    Alternation is good!
    mj

  2. Mark, I don’t think you needed to change your name at all, but I noticed you did it before public comment. Sounds like our government! Ha.

    The election did not “alter everything” but it has altered the world’s perception of the US already. Hallelujah!

    Good luck. B

  3. We won’t eliminate racism until the color of a person’s skin doesn’t even enter into the picture. Over and over I hear that Senator Obama is “the first African-American President,” and that we’re done with “old white guys” running the country. That may all be true, but if that’s the most important thing about him and his election, we’re still a long way from eliminating racism, and we’re in horrible trouble as a nation.

    Many people voted for or against Senator Obama not because of his skin color, but because of his politics. I suspect many, many people voted for him based solely on his race, and others voted the opposite way for the same reason. That is indeed a racist tragedy.

    The other evidence that racism is still alive and well is the great fear among many people that some wacko will attempt to do the incoming President some harm. Although there have been threats to the life of the President for many generations, I know there are many dyed-in-the-wool white supremicists out there. Someone may try something tragic simply because of racial hatred. We need to all pray for Mr. Obama’s safety. I may bitterly disagree with his politics, but I certainly wish him no harm.

  4. A certain percentage of people did not vote for Obama based on race-issues. I cannot say how many, but I know that it was an issue for some (WHY?). The number had to be less than fifty percent.

    Therefore, those who are racist must now be the minority.

    I really do like Alternation!!

    And this election, while influenced by many things—ethnicity included—was a good tool for measurement of our social progress. We have been a changing nation. I think this also spurs further progress.

  5. After Jacki Robinson it didn’t matter whether Willie Mays was black or white–but there had to be a Jackie Robinson first.

    I don’t think many voters said to themselves, “I don’t think he’s the best candidate, but I’m going to vote for him because he is African American.” I do think many who voted for him and were convinced that he would be the best president, were also justifiably proud (maybe for the first time) that the one the majority chose as the most qualified was also African American.

    My daughter met a young boy in Harlem who was beaming and said, “That means I can be president!”

    But from now on, complexion should not be an issue.

    One day we will realize that race was a mythological concept, a strange superstition. There is only one race of humans. There are blood types: A, B, O, etc., but there is no such thing as black or white blood. There is really only one skin color. The pigment melanin is the same, some of us just have more of it than others.

Leave a Reply

