A wee bit mair fonetiks

I’m enjoying my phonetics class.  This is an easy week for me; my students are giving reports.  Today we heard about Korean, Kiswahili, German, and Hindi.  Megan introduced us to an online tutorial from the University of Iowa.  It includes a graphic display of the organs of speech in action, plus audio and video of a real speaker.  You can see examples in Spanish, German, or American English (here)

My new found blogging friend Berkeleyscot also posted a comment in Doric Scots today on her site (here):

Far aboot’s the Mannie Bush and his wee chum, Cheney?

They’re nithin bit big Jessies. The Country an the world is a geen tae Hell, an they’re doon in their bunker.

Fit we need is a BANKER ye twits – nae a BUNKER.

It would be nice if she could include an audio link so we could hear her.

3 Responses

  1. I’m enjoying the comments and the progress of your phonetics class.

    If you’d like, I can record an audio clip of the blog entry ‘President Feartie’ and email it to you.

    Does your study of phonetics include a study of how people use language on the Internet?

    I’ve observed, over the years, on bulletin boards and in chat rooms, that people use ‘phonetics’ a great deal.

    They don’t care about correct spelling, but simply spells words as they ‘hear’ them.

    At first, I found this irritating and would ‘correct’ spelling, but now I find it interesting.
    Margaret

  2. If you could email me an audio clip, that would be great.

    I haven’t thought of investigating phonetic spelling on the internet.

    We are learning the International Phonetic Alphabet–which looks strange for spelling English words at first, but we are finding it useful as a common medium for describing a variety of languages.

    Like you, I am sometimes irritated by intentional or ignorant misspellings–even though I’m not as sharp at spelling as my wife is. One thing positive about English spelling, is that it preserves the heritage of words that have come into our language from a variety of sources. Another advantage is it provides a common medium for communicating across different dialects.

    The daughter of a colleague of mine taught school in Appalachia. Her name was Jill, but the students would write it “Miss Jeel.” My uncle, from the Ozarks in southern Missouri, described the device that directs a car as the “stern wheel”–just like on a boat, the stern wheel. Or is it stern will?

  3. I’ll prepare the audio clip over the weekend.

    Now that I’m thinking of internet bulletin boards, here’s a link to something you might find interesting.

    When you contacted me when you were in Buckie, we were talking about the language.

    Did you have contact with any of the other local religious denominations?

    This is a link to the religious denomination in which I grew up, but did not participate in, after I was 15.

    http://professing.proboards16.com/index.cgi

    Margaret

Leave a Reply

