Aw, Come on Al!

Al Gore didn’t help those who would like to overlook the abortion question, in his remarks tonight.  He reminded us that the next president could potentially appoint up to three supreme court justices, and they could potentially vote to overturn Roe V. Wade–if folks vote for McCain.

I was trying to tell myself that abortion is not really a presidential issue–it was the supreme court who overturned the states’ rights to regulate abortion–and in spite of twenty years of Republican presidencies, we haven’t got a court that is conservative enough to send the question back to the states.

The republicans don’t have any enthusiasm for their own candidate.  James Dobson–in spite of his 30 years of opposing abortion–has said he probably can’t vote for John McCain, even though McCain claims to be pro-life.

I wanted to celebrate the fact that 45 years after Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech, our country is getting close to being color blind.  I wanted to be proud of a candidate with connections to my own state.

But then Al Gore reminded me of why the governor of my own state was probably scratched off the list of potential vice-presidential candidates.  The pictures of her embracing and accepting money from one of the few providers of late-term abortions in the nation, would be too controversial, too distracting from the message of change.

And former vice president Gore reminded us that the issue has not gone away.

10 Responses

  1. Men who oppose abortion need to get a vasectomy – or stop having sex.

  2. Hi Margaret,

    It’s good to hear from you. I have been too busy, and my Doric studies have suffered.

    I think you are probably right, men who are opposed to abortion should not have sex with women unless both are open to the possibility of conception (even if they are using contraception) and committed to raising the child in that event.

    I would be more accepting of abortion if I hadn’t seen all those color images of live, developing fetuses.

    But what do women think? Should abortion always be an option, for any reason and at any stage of fetal development?

    Here’s another question: Is there any common ground? For example, are they ways in which pro-life and pro-choice people can work together to to reduce the reasons people have for turning to abortion? Reasons like poverty, lack of education, lack of access to birth control, irresponsible male sexual behavior.

    Should a pro-life voter vote for a candidate who has cut programs to help single mothers but is officially “pro-life” or a candidate who is “pro-choice” but proposes giving assistance to mothers and babies in poverty?

  3. I believe that abortion shouldn’t be just another option of birth control, but in the end it’s a very private matter for a woman.

    I know of at least one woman who had an abortion to save her life.

    http://readingwritingliving.wordpress.com/writing/samuel/

    I wish the ‘abortion debate’ wasn’t a political choice. It saddens me that it infuriates people and is so divisive.

    In many cases, it’s simply a medical issue.

    Some mothers choose abortions when tests show that the fetus will be born severely disabled.

    I believe that abortion should be legal and above all – SAFE!

    I agree – it doesn’t make pretty pictures – but neither does war.

    Good to talk to you again!

  4. I don’t think the birth control “pill” was available before the late 1960s and the “pill” itself posed potential health risks for some women and probably still does.

    I am a product of a one-night stand and was given up for adoption.

    My birth mother had little, if any, prenatal care and I was born in a private nursing home which had no facilities for difficult births.

    She and I both nearly died. She survived and I was born with cerebral palsy.

    As you know, Mark, I have a great life, but there are many others who have not been so fortunate.

    My birth father never knew I existed.

    I vote for the candidate who shows the most wisdom – a Solomon, as it were.

    USA seems an impossible country – or continent – to have a president –
    Each state is different, geographically, culturally, in climate –

    Let’s keep talking – even if only in English!

  5. I agree, Margaret, let’s keep talking. Thanks for sharing your own experience. We are not talking about abstract questions, are we?

    I’ve gotten too busy with my day job to keep up with extracurricular activities–but I am teaching a phonetics class this semester, and I may use the links you sent of recorded Doric speech.

  6. Phonetics class – that sounds really interesting.
    I have observed, on the internet, that spelling phonetically is becoming increasingly common.
    At first, it irritated me, but now I’m more intrigued that some folks are quite unconcerned about not knowing how to spell.
    After typing a word they’re unsure of they put (sp?)
    Occasionally, I’ve posted the correct spelling, but the response is often “It was a typo!”
    Incorrect spelling and typos are not the same!
    I’m a pedant!

  7. Margaret,

    I read Susan’s post about Samuel–the one you link to above. It is very moving. It doesn’t quite seem right to say “thank you” for providing the link–but I do think it will be beneficial for others to read it.

    I will maybe write a post in the next few days about phonetics.

  8. Susan was my writing teacher at UC Berkeley. I am very grateful to be able to link to people and talk about issues.
    No one has it right, no one is wrong.
    We bring our own experiences and look for answers.
    All we can do is share and
    I’m very happy I ‘met’ you, Mark

  9. Thank you, Mark, and thank you Margaret for sharing it. It means a lot to me.

  10. […] My internet friend Margaret has sent a link to a thoughtful article in the NY Times by Judith Warner–you should also read the followup comments.  Earlier Margaret sent a link to an article by her writing teacher relating her tragic experience.  Margaret also related her own story in a comment here. […]

Leave a Reply

