What an Addict Needs

Shift ItTwo years ago our president admitted that we are addicted to oil. Now that gasoline is headed to $5.00 per gallon many of us are suffering from the symptoms of this addiction.

What is the solution?

There are many saying we need to open up a new vein.

Newt Gingrich, explaining why we need to drill in environmentally sensitive areas gasped in horror–

“They want us to drive small cars . . .”

“They” referring to Jimmy Carter sympathizers who think the solution is to waste less and conserve more. (Why is it that conservatives are so frightened of the word “conserve”?)

Others say we can find a synthetic substitute; we can make oil out of soybeans or ethanol out of corn.

Maybe the problem is not that we are addicted to oil

We are addicted to cars.

I just returned from Europe, where the price of oil was the equivalent of 8 or 9 dollars per gallon–it’s probably over $10.00 now that oil is approaching $150.00 per barrel.

The Europeans love to drive as much as we do. But they also drive more efficient cars, and they balance their use of cars and public transportation. They will walk or take the bus to work Monday through Friday and save their cars for a weekend road trip or special outing.

A simple short-term solution is to use alternatives when you can.

Walk, ride a bike, car pool, avoid unnecessary trips, have fun at home. Use your car when you need to use it; when it’s time to trade, buy a more efficient car.

What does this have to do with faith?

People of faith should ask themselves two questions:

1. Am I being a good steward? I as an individual didn’t make the policy choices that got us where we are. But the daily choices I make now do affect other people. They also affect me. If I drive when I could walk or bike, I’m hurting my health.

2. Is my car an idol? Do I find my identity in my automobile? Is it a status symbol or a tool?

The Europeans love their cars, but they know there have to be alternatives. In London they are encouraging people to ride bikes. In Lithuania you can ride from Russian territory to Latvia on cycling paths that run through beautiful forests and along the coast.

My American friends noticed how slim the Europeans typically are. Part of the reason is because they walk so much.

Leave a Reply

